Graduate Trainers

Faculty Name Email Address Brief Research Descriptions
Behnam Abasht abasht@udel.edu General research area: avian genomics, and genetics of muscle diseases in chickens
Robert Akins rakins@nemours.org Cardiac tissue engineering and nerve/muscle interactions
Ryan Arsenault rja@udel.edu Cell signal transduction as applied to the immune system, metabolism, gut health & bacterial pathogenesis
Sonali Barwe sonali.barwe@nemours.org Cancer drug resistance
Mona Batish batish@udel.edu Single molecule RNA imaging of novel cancer biomarkers
Esther Biswas-Fiss ebiswas@udel.edu Biomolecular analysis of inherited visual disease; HPV oncogenesis
E. Fidelma Boyd fboyd@udel.edu Bacterial evolution and pathogenesis
Matthew Butchbach butchbach@nemoursresearch.org Spinal muscular atrophy pathogenesis
Jeffrey Caplan jcaplan@udel.edu Programmed cell death in plant innate immunity
Clara Chan cschan@udel.edu Iron metabolizing bacteria
Carlton R. Cooper crcooper@udel.edu Bone metastasis & prostate and breast cancer racial disparity
Patricia DeLeon pdeleon@udel.edu Reproductive genetics, genomics, and sperm proteomics
Melinda Duncan duncanm@udel.edu Cataract, cataract surgical side-effects, and eye development
Randy Duncan rlduncan@udel.edu Signal transduction mechanisms in musculoskeletal systems
David Edwards dge@udel.edu Cardiovascular physiology
William Farquhar wbf@udel.edu Cardiovascular and exercise physiology
Deni Galileo dgalileo@udel.edu Brain development and brain tumor invasion
Jason Gleghorn gleghorn@udel.edu Lung and kidney development, pancreatic cancer.
Pamela Green green@dbi.udel.edu Gene regulation by miRNAs and RNA degradation
Catherine Grimes cgrimes@udel.edu Host pathogen interactions
Tom Hanson tehanson@udel.edu Microbial communities
Aimee Jaramillo-Lambert anjl@udel.edu Study sex-specific differences in meiotic chromosome dynamics
Xinqiao Jia xjia@udel.edu Cell signaling in engineered environment & tissue engineering
Calvin Keeler ckeeler@udel.edu Mucosal immunity in disease protection
Kristi Kiick kiick@udel.edu Biopolymeric materials for regenerative medicine
Catherin Kirn-Safran ckirn@udel.edu Bone/cartilage development, transgenics, and osteoarthritis
Salil Lachke salil@udel.edu Genetics of ocular disease; RNA granule function
Sigrid Langhans langhans@nemoursresearch.org Ion channels, cell signaling, and cancer
Gary Laverty laverty@udel.edu Epithelial transport systems in cultured tissues
Jung-Youn Lee lee@dbi.udel.edu Cell-to-cell communication through plant plasmodesmata
Huey-Jen Lin hlin@udel.edu Cancer epigenetics
Zhengyu (Mark) Ma zma@nemours.org Using the adaptive immune system to treat cancer and allergy
Robert Mason rmason@nemours.org Proteases in disease
Julia Maresca jmaresca@udel.edu Bacterial pigmentation and phototrophy
Robin Morgan morgan@udel.edu Herpesvirus oncology
Joshua Neunuebel jneunuebel@psych.udel.edu Neurobiology of social communication
Ramona Neunuebel neunr@udel.edu Molecular mechanisms of bacterial pathogenesis
Anja Nohe anjanohe@udel.edu Biomedical imaging techniques
Eleftherios Papoutsakis epaps@udel.edu Microbial metabolic engineering; platelet biology; thrombosis
Vijay Parashar parashar@udel.edu Structure function analysis of microbiome cell signaling
Mark Parcells parcells@udel.edu Tumor virology and immunology; Marek’s Disease Virus
Shawn Polson polson@udel.edu Environmental metagenomics
Chandran R. Sabanayagam chandran@udel.edu Space biology and astrobiology
Valerie Sampson valerie.sampson@nemours.org Treatments for pediatric sarcoma
Carl J. Schmidt schmidtc@udel.edu Bioinformatics and avian genomics
Karl Schmitz schmitzk@udel.edu Biochemistry and molecular microbiology of bacterial proteases
Erica Selva selva@udel.edu Signal transduction during Drosophila development
Janine Sherrier sherrier@udel.edu Root nodule development in plants
Robert Sikes rasikes@udel.edu Mouse prostate development and human prostate cancer
J Sims-Mourtada jsimsmourtada@christianacare.org Cancer stem cells and treatment resistance
Katia Sol-Church ksolchur@nemours.org Signaling in cells transformed by mutations in the Ras pathway
Jia Song jsong@udel.edu Regulatory roles of small RNAs in early development
Jessica Tanis jess.tanis@gmail.com Ion channel regulation in Caenorhabditis elegans
Shunji Tomatsu stomatsu@nemours.org Therapy for skeletal dysplasia and lysosomal storage disorders
Kenneth van Golen klvg@udel.edu Rho GTPases in cancer
Liyun Wang lywang@udel.edu Musculoskeletal mechanobiology
Shuo Wei swei@udel.edu Proteases in cancer and development
Robert Witt RobertLWitt@gmail.com Tissue engineering for cancer survivors
Eric Wommack wommack@dbi.udel.edu Role of viruses/viral infection in microbial communities
Donna S. Woulfe dswoulfe@udel.edu Translational cardiovascular biology
Cathy Wu wuc@udel.edu Bioinformatics and computational systems biology
Yvette Yien yyien@udel.edu Developmental and tissue-specific regulation of heme synthesis
Soonmoon Yoo yoo@medsci.udel.edu Molecular regeneration and neuroimaging